Future Map 11

Future Map 11
Wei Wang, Ceramic Evening Bag series, 2011 (detail) Photo: Damian Griffiths
View Gallery


Future Map 11

12 January - 5 February 2012

London's pre-eminent annual exhibition of graduating artists and designers from University of the Arts London returns for the second year to the Zabludowicz Collection at 176 Prince of Wales Road. Now in its 14th year, Future Map has a well-earned reputation amongst industry insiders for showcasing the next generation of artists and designers who will define our visual landscape. Future Map can be an important first career break for a young artist or designer, providing an introduction to top UK and international gallerists, curators, collectors and critics.

Future Map 11 exhibitors are selected from nearly 10,000 of the University's graduating students from across all six colleges by a panel of leading industry experts.

Future Map 11 Selection Panel includes:
David Roberts, Collector & Founder of the David Roberts Arts Foundation
Mark Rappolt, Editor, Art Review
Lulu Guinness, Internationally acclaimed handbag designer
Matt Stinchcomb, European Director, Etsy.com

Exhibiting artists are:
Geoff Bartholomew (Camberwell, BA Photography); Poppy Bisdee (Wimbledon, BA Fine Art: Sculpture); Jing Jing Cao (CSM, BA Jewellery Design); Camelio Echeverri (LCF, MA Fashion Photography); Jo Gibbs (Chelsea, MA Textiles); Jon Anders Gulbrandsen (Chelsea, MA Graphic Design Communication); Emma Hancock (LCF, BA Footwear: Product Design & Development); Jade Heritage (Wimbledon, BA Fine Art: Time-Based Media); Chieh Ting Huang (Camberwell, MA Designer Maker); Phillippa Jolley (CSM, BA Jewellery Design); Iyvone Khoo (CSM, MA Fine Art); Mariya Kotova (LCF, BA FDT Surface Textiles); Alex Kwan (CSM, BA Graphic Design); Martha Lewis (Camberwell, BA Painting); Lulu Liu (LCF, BA FDT Womenswear); Alexandra March (Wimbledon, MA Fine Art); Kat Marks (LCF, MA Fashion Artefact); Giovanni Martins (LCF, MA Fashion Photography); Joanna Mires (Camberwell, BA Ceramics); Nathan Murphy (Wimbledon, MA Fine Art); Matthew Nicholson (CSM, MA Communication Design); Oliver Ruuger (LCF, MA Fashion Artefact); Alexander Small (Camberwell, MAVA Fine Art), Karin Soderquist (Camberwell, BA Illustration); Holly Stevenson (Chelsea, MA Fine Art); Jy Yeon Suh (CSM, MA Industrial Design); Nicol Vizioli (LCF, MA Fashion Photography); Hsiang Wang (CSM, MA Industrial Design); Wei Wang (LCF, MA Fashion Artefact); Renhui Zhao (LCC, MA Photography).

Zabludowicz Collection Future Map Prize

The winner of this annual prize will be selected from the exhibiting artist by a panel of judges including Zabludowicz Collection Founder Anita Zabludowicz alongside artist and Camberwell alumnus Chantal Joffe. The prize comprises of £3,000 which is to be used for the production of a new work and a chance to make an edition with the Zabludowicz Collection. The aim of the prize is to enable the winning practitioner to continue to work in the months following their graduation by both supporting them financially and facilitating a new work. Editions by 2011 winner Josh Baum and 2010 winner, Cindie Cheung are now available in our online shop.


University of Arts London
Future Map